Functional Translation Exercise

Post your questions or comments!

14. Look what bag I made. I made it myself. I’m really/very proud of myself.

15. Look what bag I made (for) myself.

Note: by myself, on my own, alone = physicall alone

16. How do you do that? (thinking in terms of a general truth)  or How can you do that? (thinking in terms of ability)

Note: You = impersonal; How is that made? = only if it’s not an action, but something you create, so to speak.

17. One never knows. (You never know)

18. He was arrested

Note: when “they” is uninteresting, obvious (boring, like here), unknown, in English the passive is a most likely option.

19. We were told you were away

20. We’re not on speaking terms / We don’t talk to each other / We don’t talk to one another any more

21. There used to be a cinema / movie theater over here

22. It’s close / It’s nearby / It’s near here

23. Probably, she won’t agree / She’ll probably disagree / She’s likely not to agree / It’s likely that she won’t agree

24. Instead (of that), hand me the stapler, please / Instead, pass me the stapler, please

25 Let’s hail/stop/get a taxi. Otherwise, we’ll never get there

Note: call a taxi (phone, or in/on the street)

 

One comment

  1. I’ve got some doubts:

    – Sentence 15: I wrote “Look what a bag I made myself”. Is that “a” wrong?
    – S. 19: I wrote ” We were told that you were abroad”. Is “abroad” well used?
    – S. 21: I wrote “There used to be a cinema right here”. Is I”right” correct?
    – S. 25: I wrote “Let’s get a taxi, if we don’t do that, we won’t arrive”. Is “the if clause” used properly?

    Thank you for the post!!!!

    Like

Leave a comment