“Change fear for curiosity” MF

This is just to praise Michelle’s extraordinary sentence. It brought to my mind something thfear-for-curiousityat was said in Madrid’s parade last 5th January, called precisely “Ode to the Curiosity”. One of the wise men ended his speech asking children to keep their curiosity alive. Sometimes I feel that the amount of information that bombarded us every day makes it difficult to remain curious, mainly curious about little but revealing things. I’m worried about children growing in a screened-world, where everything (and I mean EVERYTHING) can be seen with just a click. How they couimages.jpgld be curious after hours and hours watching and listening in front of a screen? So, fear for curiosity is a fantastic option. Let’s do it. Thanks Michelle!

2 comments

  1. Hi there! Well, thanks! ❤ 🙂

    I said that in the context of people taking exams, or having to speak in public. When I'm nervous or fearful I try to focus on finding reasons to complete the task, and for me being curious helps a great deal!
    About what you say, what screens offer us are a great many different things.

    So — What did you have in mind? Let me illustrate what I mean.

    Screens have given us the amazing chance to access knowledge, information, and the possibility of discussing ideas and communicating. I suppose you are not referring to this kind of function screens have today, right? Information is fundamental to allow us to think better, and when thought about it allows us to develop knowledge. Most of us would have never had a chance to access this info and knowledge, because until the second half of the 20th century we were all sentenced to ignorance.

    I think you probably mean trash TV and ad-bombing. But that's not screens. That's people obsessed with manipulating crowds to get their money. That's greedy business people not wanting us all, precisely, to learn, to think, to communicate.

    I understand from what you mention of "Replace fear of the unknown with curiosity" that the sentence refers to spiritual and religious beliefs, like saying "don't be afraid of death, explore the spiritual/religion". I have nothing against people exploring the spiritual and religions, in spite of the fact that I am critical of religions for all the manipulation they have traditionally exerted on people, and all the work they put into driving most people away from knowledge, discussions, exploring the human realm. But now we have started to explore democratic societies, and we have options: we can even be believers and break with that religious tradition, like when people use protection to prevent pregnancies, or when we are not afraid to learn, to explore and develop knowledge.

    What do you think?

    Night night!

    Like

  2. Well, not exactly. What I meant about “screens” is really all kind of screens, i.e. tablets, mobile phones, tv, interactive screens at schools, &c. I don’t deny the fact that today’s communication and access to information have greatly improved because of the facility that those “screens” provide (it is not really the screen by itself but the internet connection behind, I know). But, still, I do believe that that improvement has other many drawbacks, as almost everything in this universe. So, to illustrate more o less what I’m trying to say: communication throughout the net has open the possibility to share experiences all over the world, with people living far away from us, it has increased the communication that we perform every day by means of mobiles, and so on. But, at the same time, this virtual-network-communication has reduced the person-to-person interaction, physically I mean, and this is, from my point of view, particularly “dangerous” when it refers to children. Dangerous in the sense that children in some way rely more on what they watch or hear on the net that in their own senses, and this opens the door to the manipulation of their thinking (yeah, I know that this was also done before the net even existed, but still). Critical thinking is built not only with hundreds of bits information, it needs personal experience too, physical experience, including movement, touching, smelling, and so on. Critical thinking, and with it, the capacity to process that huge amount of information comes with the time, stages in children development are an important part of their growing up, and I think that when a child is literally attached to a screen since she or he is one year old, those stages are totally distorted. I see every day toddlers in their prams with a mobile phone or a tablet in their hands, while their parents are having a coffee of chatting with friends; I see every day children traveling in cars with a screen in front of them, instead of watching throughout the windows and asking about the thinks they see. Of course, the tv is the worst of all of them, but even mobiles and tables function as a kind of tv. And what happens with books? I mean paper books? Do you really think that the experience of reading a book is the same that watching a movie? For me, the former requires undoubtedly a more elaborate process, reading, imagining, inventing, analysing, having time to think about the story, etc. A book is processed slowly and deeply than a movie, the same story needs perhaps a week to be read in a book, but less than two hours to be watched on a screen. Of course, the problem is not the devices by themselves but the quantity and type of use that children are exposed to. That is what worry me.

    Regarding the sentence in the post “Replace fear of the unknown with curiosity” it was just the image that I found to accompany the post. I didn’t mean anything related to religion or spiritual thinking. I’m afraid I’m a more “worldly” being. If I have to put a name to the “unknown” I’d refer to science, all the things that are still to be discovered, explained, described, divulged, and taken care of. A child playing five minutes in the beach would discover many more things that during one hour with a tablet, that for sure. Scientific knowledge stems from curiosity (I include all type of knowledge, arts, history, etc). Oversaturation of information doesn’t promote the need to satisfy that curiosity, to go from thinking to action. So, I do believe that a well-informed society is not that what have access to vast amount of information, but that which know how to assess it, that which is able to discriminate the true (a really difficult task), that which can produce its own knowledge, that which is curious about the world, that which support that complex process of discovery, and all these is not necessarily achieved with the new ICT. For me, this comes with a good education based on the observation and understanding of the diversity, an education based on the innate hungry for knowledge that children have, and yeah, based primarly on their senses and personal experiences.

    Sorry, it is a long topic to be discussed in a post, and less in a post-replay, but I wanted to clarify a bit what I meant.

    Thanks for the space!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

