Last 2016 Lesson! Sharing Stuff!

Today we had our Goodbye 2016 lesson and it was a journey of discovery! (Demented laughter).

Karen, Lucía and MªJosé brought yummy things to eat and drink, and as usual, I totally freaked out because I’m so shy, but these students took the initiative and we all had this lovely snack together, as we talked about all kinds of stuff!

I gave out the humongous listening activity I prepared once on the neuroscience documentary I hope you’ll work on the following week. (See above, “Holiday Work” to download the doc and watch the documentary) and two Christmas songs I love: White Christmas and my favo(u)rite, Let It Snow! Here are the lyrics I prepared for Básico 1 (with my translation and a karaoke video).

I asked if anyone had learned/learnt this amazing poem, Wild Geese, by Mary Oliver, which I’m always asking students to learn, and NO, nobody had! What a bunch of chickens, really! 😀 BUT — people brought stories to class. I hope I can remember everything. Here goes…

Karen shared a preaching on Jesus she really loved, after telling us why she had thought of this, and we reviewed some language points. She’ll be posting it because it’s full of adverbs modifying adjectives, superlatives, interesting collocations…

Germán shared the link to the BH documentary – To Belong (it’s not scenes, it’s all in scenes! See page above in a few days, “Holiday Work”), made a language question (to be to) and was going to read a minisaga, but we kind of got lost in some complex conversation, as usual! (People, you can help me, you know, hahahah — help me shut up, I mean! 😀 ).

ringdoveMarina shared one of her minisagas, and told us how she had come up with the idea. It was a very good example of story-telling, in 50 exact words! It was so interesting because it started as if she were talking about a human baby but then it was a bird, and the human in the story was herself!

Mª José gave us the recipe to the cake she brought! And I can say it was lovely! Here it is:

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • a glass with yoghurt
  • an envelope of baking powder
  • 3 glasses of flour
  • 2 of sugar
  • 1 of olive oil

Mix the eggs and the sugar, add the yoghurt and the oil, then the flour and the baking powder. When it’s all blended, rub butter into a baking pan, pour and put in the oven at 150 degrees for 30-35 minutes. She also added chocolate and nuts.

Sergio told us a story about a seagull and a word he mislearned! 😀 And people asked him questions about it.

Cristina brought a very old poem, the Beautiful Dreamer, and we found its song on youtube and then she played the audio were the poem was read by probably someone from India. But it could be someone from Africa. I would need to listen to it again. As I had trouble understanding the poem — while trying to strangle Cristina for picking poems I could not understand and not learning those I prepare for you all (demented laughter) — I kindly requested assistance, and Cristina told us what she interpreted it meant, and Karen did too, and then Mª José gave what was my favourite interpretation! 😛 ❤ But if you click the link above, it does seems there was some dead person or other!

thedreamer

I talked a bit about rhymes, too. But more on this in February or March.

To compensate Cristina for my teasing about this poem, here is a little present:

Audio “The Dreamer”

Laura read her minisaga on magic, and she told us why she had written it, and what she usually does when she wants to give presents to friends.

This triggered a conversation about tales, and patriarchal authors like Perault and the Grimm Brothers distorting tales from the oral tradition that had very different message (check this out). We also talked about motherhood and I mentioned “Room” by Emma Donoghue, the movie version, I watched last night, how impressed I was with how different the message and the movie was in terms of depicting women, women’s courage, intelligence, strength, and how just with a question by a journalist it made such a good point on how patriarchal ideology cannot see the strength, courage and intelligence in what women do, better said, the movie shows women do this. It’s a feminist vision, in a movie about love and resilience and life when all the odds are against us. How life grows in spite of it all. About 5 students had read the novel when Marta was their teacher. They said it was hard, and now I hope that my words help also to enhance the beauty of the story-telling, because that is precisely what we are trained not to do. But life is full of hardship, suffering and terrible horrifying things, and what this story tells us is that in spite of this, we can create life, establish relationships. This is obvious in countries at war, for instance. The hurt is the hurt, the damage the damage, and that is why war is a crime against humanity, but life and our human minds are amazing, they resist, persist, exist!

partridge_in_a_pear_tree_m-61_105Lucía brought this song, Twelve Days of Christmas, and it made me laugh to listen to the lyrics because as I didn’t know what they meant, they sounded so surreal to me! So Lucía helped and explained what she thought they meant! This connects again with the issue of rhymes we’ll come back to some day. (Provided I don’t absolutely forget about it.)

Please, feel free to correct me or complete this!

One comment

Leave a Reply

