Worksheets on Collocations: 57 & 58 (Key & Lang. Comments)

Key 57

  1. 1 bright, 2 give; mean, 3 up; decent, 4 travels, 5 bad; sleep, 6 know
  2. 1 really/absolutely delighted, 2 been on the go, 3 a great pleasure, 4 really/very much looking forward, 5 came as a bit of a shock, 6 brutally honest, 7 didn’t have much luck, 8 cause (trouble), 9 We very much/sincerely hope, 10 (It) occurred to me that, 11 don’t go to any trouble on my account, 12 Give me a ring (Drop me a line/Drop me at the next traffic lights).
  3. FACE REALLY RELIEF EMAIL BACK REASON FEEBLEEXCUSE

Key 58

  1. 1 broke his promise, 2 offer any explanation, 3 reaffirm my commitment to, 4 rejected the charge, 5 dodge the question, 6 betrayed the trust
  2. 1 (he) gave repeated assurances, 2 (He) went back on his promise to, 3 rarely give a straight answer, 4 (he) made a (firm) commitment to, 5 for keeping your promise, 6 (he) fielded a number of hostile questions, 7 better channels of communication, 8 I take your point but, 9 He gave a full apology – mostly he’s! Beat that!
  3. 1 Alex 2 Brona 3 Simon 4 Arlene 5 Finn
  4. We need to confront the issue of rape, With all due respect I think your view is biased because, Establish communication is step number 1 in problem-solving, OK, that’s a fair comment, The football player issued a denial after reports in the papers that he had raped an underaged, The student put an interesting question to the lecturer

As I worked with these sheets, I thought of mentioning these points, for more language awareness on different kinds of issues:

Extreme adjectives don’t use “very” but “absolutely/really” and the like!, e.g., I’m absolutely delighted to announce… As this issue came up in Intermedio, I asked Germán to review that and share what he knows about it.

Expressing emphasis: That’s a feeble excuse, if ever there was one! (if ever…)

MEAN: He didn’t mean any harm. / I didn’t mean it that way (when you’re misunderstood)

DESCRIPTIONS: thick-skinned / blue-eyed, wide-shouldered, hard-headed… She has blue eyes / Her eyes are blue / A blue-eyed woman came to me and said…

ON: from “I’ve been on the go all week”, I just thought we might review “on” phrases of this kind: I’m on a business trip / on a holiday, We went on a day-trip to Gibraltar, The kids went on an excursion to the mountain.

Is it (still) on? = Sigue vigente el plan? (informal) or also, Siguen poniendo la peli/serie?

Key says: Are you still UP for a night out? Check this out: http://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/learner-english/be-up-for-sth (focus: want to do it) But you can also say, Are you still in? (we’re in and out of plans when we decide to join or not to join people) (but not followed by “for” because that means sth negative: http://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/be-in-for-sth

58

Framing questions is not like “I’ve been framed!” Do you know why?

To become accountable: hard wording for Spanish speakers. Related to responsibility. Who is responsible for this? Who should be held accountable for this? You need this kind of language to speak about politics and democracy. Check this out: http://www.talkingpeople.net/tp/usefullanguage/everydaylang/responsibility.htm

Watch my monologue on Politics and Honesty.

skilful = British English; skillful = US American English

Leave a Reply

